Home / Sports / PCB’s new constitution comes into effect after cabinet approval

PCB’s new constitution comes into effect after cabinet approval

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday announced that its new constitution for 2019 has been approved and came into effect on August 19.

“The PCB received notification from the Ministry for Inter Provincial Coordination, confirming the cabinet division’s approval of the new PCB Constitution 2019, which came into effect on 19th August 2019,” read a press release.

The new constitution split the office of the chairman and the chief executive. The managing director of the PCB has now been redesignated as the chief executive.

Under the new constitution, the existing board of governors of the PCB will continue for a period until, at least, four members of the BoG are notified from among a pool of seven members (three cricket associations and four independent members).

The new constitution will change the composition of the BoG as three members being presidents of the cricket associations [on a rotation basis as per applicable regulations to be shared in due course], two members nominated by the patron, four independent members, including at least one female member, chief executive of the PCB, and federal secretary of the Ministry of IPC as ex-officio [non-voting] member will comprise the board.

Under the latest development, 16 regional cricket associations will be replaced by six cricket associations: Balochistan Cricket Association, Central Punjab Cricket Association, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Cricket Association, Northern Cricket Association, Sindh Cricket Association and Southern Punjab Cricket Association.

Similarly, district cricket associations will be replaced by city cricket associations.

Under the new constitution, both cricket associations and city cricket associations will be governed in accordance with their respective model constitutions, which will be approved by the BoG.

According to the PCB, cricket associations will be sharing more responsibility and providing a forum for city cricket associations to pursue better and effective regulations and governance of cricket within their respective jurisdiction.

The general body, under the new constitution, will comprise 11 members, including the PCB chairman, presidents of each cricket association, president of the blind cricket council, president of deaf and dumb cricket association, while the chief executive officer and the chief operating officer will be the ex-officio members

A clause 12 (c) has also been added in the PCB constitution to strengthen governance structures. The latest addition requires the PCB to implement best corporate governance practices that promote an ethical culture in the board, while nominations, human resource and remuneration, and risk management committees have also been introduced through another clause 12 (h).

The transitional arrangements from old to the new constitution have been described under clause 49.

About admin

Check Also

United fans will back Pogba after racist abuse: Solskjaer

MANCHESTER: Ole Gunnar Solskjaer expects Manchester United fans to rally around Paul Pogba after he …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *